Emerald Edge

With “Live at Rockin’ Rooster Club”, the prog metal quartet Emerald Edge releases their first live album as a follow-up to the 2017 album “Surreal”. This extraordinary recording of the concert at Rockin’ Rooster Club contains four new songs as well as eight carefully selected tracks from their previous albums: “Surreal”, “By The Light Of The Dark Star” and “The Mirror Speaks”.

With their sophisticated progressive metal – some songs can even go beyond the 20-minute format – the five thoroughbred musicians of Emerald Edge have made a good-sounding name for themselves in the region and have proven at numerous concerts since their formation in the fall of 2003 that they are masters of their craft.

The idea for Emerald Edge came from the two remaining founding members Volker Faas, guitar, and Martin Wendler, bass and backing vocals, both avowed fans of genre greats such as Dream Theater, Rush and Marillion, as well as Iron Maiden, Pink Floyd and Metallica. Initially starting out as an instrumental trio, female vocals were added to the band’s original compositions for two years in 2004. The current singer and violinist, Alice Aschauer, joined in 2006; drummer Artur Wlossek has been a permanent member of the band since 2009.

On their live album, Emerald Edge once again demonstrate their courage for melody, which does not mean that a single song only has to consist of a chorus and verse: The opposite is the case – other bands would find enough material for five or six songs in one number by the combo. With this album, comprising a total of 12 compositions, they once again underline their credo of setting themselves no musical boundaries, thinking outside the genre box and constantly facing new challenges. And it is not least thanks to Alice Aschauer’s electric violin and Martin Wendler’s didgeridoo that the polished emerald not only sparkles, but also begins to shine unexpectedly.

Alice Aschauer
Vocals, Violin & Keyboards

Artur Wlossek
Drums

Martin Wendler
Bass, Didgeridoo, Bass Pedals, Vocals

Volker Faas
Guitars


Concerts

28.09.2024
19:30

Prog Night 2024

Rockin’ Rooster Club
Dieselstr. 5, 42781 Haan

07.12.2024
19:30

Prog Rock – Alternative Hard Rock Night

Alte Schlosserei
Kothener Str. 5, 42285 Wuppertal

16.05.2024
20:00

Haan Open Air 2025


Merchandise

The items available at concerts are also available at emeraldedge.bandcamp.com.


Impressions

Emerald Edge have already proven their ability to enchant the audience with their music and unique performance at numerous concerts. With their unique combination of different musical styles, the four musicians were even able to attract fans who previously had no direct connection to the metal genre.

Prog Night 2017 - Rockin' Rooster Club

Prog Night 2017 - Rockin' Rooster Club

© Michael Clemens
Prog Night 2017 - Rockin' Rooster Club

Prog Night 2017 - Rockin' Rooster Club

© Michael Clemens
Prog Night 2017 - Rockin' Rooster Club

Prog Night 2017 - Rockin' Rooster Club

© Michael Clemens
Prog Night 2017 - Rockin' Rooster Club

Prog Night 2017 - Rockin' Rooster Club

© Michael Clemens
Prog Night 2017 - Rockin' Rooster Club

Prog Night 2017 - Rockin' Rooster Club

© Michael Clemens
Prog Night 2017 - Rockin' Rooster Club

Prog Night 2017 - Rockin' Rooster Club

© Michael Clemens
Prog Night 2017 - Rockin' Rooster Club

Prog Night 2017 - Rockin' Rooster Club

© Michael Clemens
Pfingstrausch 2018 - Haan

Pfingstrausch 2018 - Haan

© Eva Brings
Prog Night 2023 - Rockin' Rooster Club

Prog Night 2023 - Rockin' Rooster Club

© Michael Clemens
Prog Night 2022 - Rockin' Rooster Club

Prog Night 2022 - Rockin' Rooster Club

© Michael Clemens
Prog Night 2022 - Rockin' Rooster Club

Prog Night 2022 - Rockin' Rooster Club

© Michael Clemens
Prog Night 2022 - Rockin' Rooster Club

Prog Night 2022 - Rockin' Rooster Club

© Michael Clemens
Prog Night 2022 - Rockin' Rooster Club

Prog Night 2022 - Rockin' Rooster Club

© Michael Clemens
Prog Night 2022 - Rockin' Rooster Club

Prog Night 2022 - Rockin' Rooster Club

© Michael Clemens

Emerald Edge

Mit „Live at Rockin’ Rooster Club“ veröffentlicht das Prog-Metal-Quartett Emerald Edge ihr erstes Livealbum als Nachfolger des Albums „Surreal“ aus dem Jahr 2017. Dieser außergewöhnliche Mittschnitt des Konzertes im Rockin’ Rooster Club enthält vier neue Songs sowie acht sorgfältig ausgewählte Stücke aus ihren früheren Alben: “Surreal”, “By The Light Of The Dark Star” und “The Mirror Speaks”.

Mit ausgeklügeltem Progressive-Metal – einige Lieder dürfen gerne auch mal das 20-Minuten-Format sprengen – haben sich die fünf Vollblut-Musiker von Emerald Edge in der Region einen wohlklingenden Namen gemacht und seit ihrer Gründung im Herbst 2003 bei zahlreichen Konzerten bewiesen, dass sie ihr Handwerkszeug beherrschen.

Die Idee zu Emerald Edge hatten die beiden verbliebenen Gründungsmitglieder Volker Faas, Gitarre, und Martin Wendler, Bass und Backgroundgesang, beide bekennende Fans von Genre-Größen wie Dream Theater, Rush und Marillion, aber auch von Iron Maiden, Pink Floyd und Metallica. Zunächst als Instrumental-Trio begonnen, ergänzte 2004 für zwei Jahre weiblicher Gesang die Eigenkompositionen der Band. Der heutige Sänger und Violinist, Alice Aschauer, stieß 2006 dazu; Drummer Artur Wlossek ist sei 2009 fester Bestandteil der Band.

Auch auf ihrem Livealbum beweisen Emerald Edge erneut Mut zur Melodie, was nicht heißt, dass ein einzelner Song nur aus Refrain und Strophe bestehen muss: Das Gegenteil ist der Fall, – in einer Nummer der Combo würden andere Bands genug Material finden für fünf oder sechs Lieder. Sie unterstreichen mit dem insgesamt 12 Kompositionen umfassenden Album erneut ihr Credo, sich keine musikalischen Grenzen zu setzen, über den Genre-Tellerrand hinaus zu denken und sich immer neuen Herausforderungen zu stellen. Und nicht zuletzt Alice Aschauers E-Violine und Martin Wendlers Didgeridooo ist es zu verdanken, dass der geschliffene Smaragd nicht nur funkelt, sondern immer wieder unverhofft zu strahlen beginnt.

Alice Aschauer
Vocals, Violin & Keyboards

Artur Wlossek
Drums

Martin Wendler
Bass, Didgeridoo, Bass Pedals, Vocals

Volker Faas
Guitars


Konzerte

28.09.2024
19:30

Prog Night 2024

Rockin‘ Rooster Club
Dieselstr. 5, 42781 Haan

07.12.2024
19:30

Prog Rock – Alternative Hard Rock Night

Alte Schlosserei
Kothener Str. 5, 42285 Wuppertal

16.05.2024
20:00

Haan Open Air 2025


Merchandise

Die bei Konzerten erhältlichen Artikel sind auch bei emeraldedge.bandcamp.com erhältlich.


Impressionen

Emerald Edge haben bereits bei zahlreichen Konzerten ihre Fähigkeit unter Beweis gestellt, das Publikum mit ihrer Musik und einer einzigartigen Performance zu verzaubern. Die vier Musiker konnten mit ihrer einzigartigen Kombination verschiedener Musikstile sogar Fans anlocken, die bisher keinen direkten Bezug zum Metal Genre hatten.

Prog Night 2017 - Rockin' Rooster Club

Prog Night 2017 - Rockin' Rooster Club

© Michael Clemens
Prog Night 2017 - Rockin' Rooster Club

Prog Night 2017 - Rockin' Rooster Club

© Michael Clemens
Prog Night 2017 - Rockin' Rooster Club

Prog Night 2017 - Rockin' Rooster Club

© Michael Clemens
Prog Night 2017 - Rockin' Rooster Club

Prog Night 2017 - Rockin' Rooster Club

© Michael Clemens
Prog Night 2017 - Rockin' Rooster Club

Prog Night 2017 - Rockin' Rooster Club

© Michael Clemens
Prog Night 2017 - Rockin' Rooster Club

Prog Night 2017 - Rockin' Rooster Club

© Michael Clemens
Prog Night 2017 - Rockin' Rooster Club

Prog Night 2017 - Rockin' Rooster Club

© Michael Clemens
Pfingstrausch 2018 - Haan

Pfingstrausch 2018 - Haan

© Eva Brings
Prog Night 2023 - Rockin' Rooster Club

Prog Night 2023 - Rockin' Rooster Club

© Michael Clemens
Prog Night 2022 - Rockin' Rooster Club

Prog Night 2022 - Rockin' Rooster Club

© Michael Clemens
Prog Night 2022 - Rockin' Rooster Club

Prog Night 2022 - Rockin' Rooster Club

© Michael Clemens
Prog Night 2022 - Rockin' Rooster Club

Prog Night 2022 - Rockin' Rooster Club

© Michael Clemens
Prog Night 2022 - Rockin' Rooster Club

Prog Night 2022 - Rockin' Rooster Club

© Michael Clemens
Prog Night 2022 - Rockin' Rooster Club

Prog Night 2022 - Rockin' Rooster Club

© Michael Clemens